Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Book Review: Redeemed

Redeemed by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Recommended for: Ages 8 and up.

Rating: PG (violence)

 Jonah’s new twin must time travel and face off against his siblings’ worst enemy in order to save the future—and his family—in the eighth and final book of the New York Times bestselling The Missing series, which Kirkus Reviews calls “plenty of fun and great for history teachers as well.”

After traveling through history multiple times and finding out his original identity, Jonah thought he’d fixed everything. But some of his actions left unexpected consequences. His parents—and many other adults—are still stuck as teenagers. And now Jonah has a new sibling, an identical twin brother named Jordan.

As odd as all this is for Jonah, it’s beyond confusing for Jordan. How does everyone in his family have memories of Jonah when he doesn’t? How can his annoying kid sister Katherine speak so expertly about time travel—and have people from the future treating her with respect? A few rash moves by Jordan send them all into the future—and into danger. What if he’s also the only one who can get them back to safety, once and for all?

 This is the last book in The Missing Series and it was a good conclusion. It was confusing but not nearly as confusing as number seven.

  Writing: 4/5
 This book, unlike all the others, is from Jordan's point of view. Haddix was very good at making everything that is familiar to the readers be brand new for Jordan, who has never experienced these types of things before. This book is always exciting and there were some twists that I didn't expect. There were several typos and I think that there was the wrong name at one point. The reading level is great for the target audience.  

 Setting: 5/5

 In this book they go to the future, but you don't get to find out much about what it is like. It is also not specific about when in the future they go. When in the future the only places they go are a hospital and to the Interchronological Rescue's building where they visit a lab and the offices. There is also Jordan's home where some strange things are happening, but other than that it is a normal home.

Plot: 4/5

 This book starts out with a scene from book number seven, just from a different point of view. The story follows Jordan who is completely confused with everything that is going on. He decides to do something about it when he gets annoyed at people talking about the situation. Throughout the story he is trying to figure out how he can help his parents, while still learning about time travel. There was one part where the villain told what his plan was, which helped them to know what they needed to do to defeat him.

Characters: 5/5

 The old characters, such as Katherine and Jonah, have grown so much over the series to become much more grown up. Jordan keeps expecting Katherine to act like her old self and is surprised by her change. Jordan is rash at the beginning of the book but even he grows. The villain is trying to get a secret that will get him more money. You get to see the younger version of a former character, who is mad about his life but is very smart.

I love this series, especially number 5 and 6, and I would recommend it to people of all ages. I only recommend this books if you have read all of the previous books.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Tell us what you think! We love to hear what others think of these books and movies. We just ask that you would please keep your comments clean. We are a kid-friendly site.